O-Optimism

O

I enjoy being around optimistic people, they are more cheerful and lighthearted. Optimism is a positive way of thinking than can affect not only your personality and attitude but also your quality of life. I like to think I am mostly optimistic, although sometimes I am also a realist not pessimistic but tend to be more practical about things rather than always believing it will just work itself out. How do we find the balance between being positive and hopeful and being realistic about reality?

optimism

[op-tuh-miz-uh m]
noun
1.

a disposition or tendency to look on the more favorable side of eventsor conditions and to expect the most favorable outcome.
2.

the belief that good ultimately predominates over evil in the world.
3.

the belief that goodness pervades reality.
4.

the doctrine that the existing world is the best of all possible worlds.
Published in: Uncategorized on April 17, 2015 at 10:33 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://krism84.wordpress.com/2015/04/17/o-optimism/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s a tough one Kris. People who are always optimistic and smiley and too full of joie de vivre are suspect! I know this sounds awful to say but sometimes you can just tell that it’s not real. I think I am basically an optimistic person – things do mostly seem to work out, but in truth I would call myself a pessimistic optimist, or an optimistic pessimist. đŸ™‚
    But hope is always called for in this strange troubled world we live in ..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree we always need hope!

    Like

  3. I like to consider myself an optimist, but I’m probably more a realist. I try to have a positive outlook on things, yet not be disappointed if it doesn’t work out. So when someone is crazy optimistic (coughmyhusbandcough), I usually try to be real with them just so they’re not crushed if it doesn’t happen according to their plan. It’s hard to do that and NOT seem like a Debbie Downer though!

    – Allison
    http://www.allisonwrites.com

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

