Failure

Recent events this past week have got me thinking about what failure is or isn’t. I had recently applied for the interpreter program and attended the screening day for applicants where we sign and do activities all day. There were 42 people there that day and they accept 25 I was not one of those 25. I found out last Thursday via email and I will admit I took it hard. It took a few days to soak in and I felt like I had failed myself and all my family and friends who believed in me. But what is failure really? I will be trying again next year and am not giving up so really it is just a minor setback in the grand scheme of things. I guess I just wanted to be closer to completing my goals especially since I will be turning 30 this year. Yes I have 3 AA’s and 1 BA so it is not like I have accomplished nothing. I am not a failure even though at times I feel like I have failed. And yes I have gotten many of the “things happen for a reason” responses from my loved ones and yes that may be true but it still stings. The best thing I can do is keep practicing and preparing and do it all again in hopes of better results next time.

Nothing in this world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not: nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not: the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.


Published in: Uncategorized on May 5, 2014 at 11:53 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://krism84.wordpress.com/2014/05/05/failure/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m sorry. It always sucks so hard when we really want something and don’t get it. I hope you DO try again next year and that things go the right way for you.

    Like

  2. Good lucky next year and as a consolation prize please let me allow to nominate you for the Liebster award!
    http://evamarasca.com/2014/05/10/award-alert/

    Like


Leave a Reply

