R- Respect

I believe in respect. We are taught at a young age, or most of us are, to respect our elders. Now that I am older there is one problem I have with that. Not all elders deserve our respect. Yes you should be polite, however, I think it is also important for children to understand that although we teach to be polite and respect our elders that not all are good people or deserve it. I think respect needs to be earned. I don’t like the idea of a child or young person feeling they must respect someone who is older even if that person is a bad influence or just bad themselves. I know this is where the parenting process kicks in and I admit I am not a parent myself but where do we draw the line of respecting elders and looking out for ones safety? Just a thought.

Published in: Uncategorized on April 23, 2014 at 10:40 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://krism84.wordpress.com/2014/04/23/r-respect/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

