C – Cancer

Cancer is one of those things that we are struggling to find a cure for and for many people I have known or know by the time they find this cure it will be too late. Cancer has no real rhyme or reason. Yes some things can cause cancer yet everyday people are diagnosed who do not partake in cancer causing habits. Not only are we slow about finding the cure to cancer but the late diagnosis are even more disastrous. I have had people in my life with cancers like ovarian and pancreatic, by the time the doctors diagnose these cancers they are usually too progressed for treatment to be a life saver, the end up prolonging life. With the exception of my grandfather who made the brave decision to forgo treatment and enjoy the few months he had left rather than prolong his life by a mere few more months and spend them in pain. It took me years to understand his decision but I am at peace with it know and understand his choice. I have another person who is close to me battling ovarian cancer, she has stage 4 ovarian, then breast cancer popped up. She had the mastectomy and now she has a brain tumor that was operated on yesterday, which thankfully went well. She has been fighting this fight for over 2 years and has been so strong. I wish with all my heart and soul that she will beat this and hopefully someday we will have a cure so people like her wont have to be so strong and scared. Or if we cannot find that cure yet at least a way for earlier detection to give everyone a fighting chance.

Published in: Uncategorized on April 3, 2014 at 8:17 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://krism84.wordpress.com/2014/04/03/c-cancer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I hear you!

    I lost my mother to lung cancer in 2012 (though sometimes it feels like just yesterday), and edited a charity anthology to benefit cancer research. It was a microscopic thing in the grand scheme of things, but it made me feel like I was doing *something* to fight back against the disease that seems to be taking more and more people from my life every year.

    Like

    • Every little thing we do no matter how small can make a huge difference. I am sorry for your loss.

      Like

  2. Hey, just stopping in from the A-Z. Cancer is such a horrible disease and I hate how many lives it’s destroyed. I’ve lost so many family members and friends to this sickness. Just saying the “C” word in my house is like a cuss.

    Like

  3. I was talking to a physician the other day and he just randomly said ” Don’t worry about any disease other than Cancer. All can be treated, reduced or cured via medicines”

    technically, Cancer is just multiplication of normal cells at a faster rate and without outwards stimulus. If only, we could stop that !

    Like

    • Hopefully someday we can find a way to stop that. It is crazy how there is no real rhyme or reason to it.

      Like


Leave a Reply

