A Few More- “Petals on the Wind” and “There and Back Again”

In my post-graduation elation I have been reading as much as I possibly can while still working full time and maintaining a relationship with my boyfriend and family. My juggling skills in this aspect have improved greatly which mean more books for me, yay! I have two more books I have read that I wanted to talk about.

petalsonthewindcover

The first is Petals on the Wind by V.C. Andrews. This book picked up right where Flowers in the Attic ended and sped forward with an interesting if not disturbing plot. In the first book the character of the mother confounded me, with this book Cathy the eldest daughter takes that role for me. She becomes almost another person. She is confident and seductive and very much hell bent on her career and revenge for what her mother put them through. I understand how traumatic events can have a negative effect on someone especially when they are in their early teens when it started, but really? She jumps into situations and what happens happens. A tendency for older men occurs and yet she still has Chris on her heart and mind at all times. I find it very strange yet compelling. I am interested into seeing where it is this series goes as I have 3 more books to read. I do have to admit it is nice to read a book about a family that is just as if not more screwed up than mine. Kind of like watching a soap opera to make you feel better about life.

 

837899

The next book I read was There and Back Again by Sean Astin.  I picked this book first because I love reading biographies and learning about peoples lives.  I am also a HUGE Lord of the Rings and Goonies fan.  I adore Sean Astin, or I did. Let me clarify I still think Sean Astin is amazing and a great actor but some things in the book seemed like he was bitter about not getting awards or not achieving certain things. I know many people feel this way but it rubbed me the wrong way, However; his redemption as that he completely recognizes and accepts his faults and I give him due credit for that.

For some reason I also never realized his parents were John Astin and Patty Duke. That is a pretty awesome combo of talent. The thing I enjoyed most about this book was obviously the behind the scenes look into Lord of the Rings. It is interesting to see the day to day goings on of a large film production. Having watched all the hours and hours of special features on the DVD’s I still learned new and interesting things about the cast and crew. I enjoy little insights like that a great deal. Overall this book was great and also a quick and easy read which I like to break up the more wordy and intense books I get myself into.

And ever on I go.  Coming Soon: Dr. Sleep by Stephen King, The Returned by Jason Mott and If There be Thorns by V.C. Andrews. CAN’T WAIT!

Published in: Uncategorized on January 24, 2014 at 11:23 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://krism84.wordpress.com/2014/01/24/a-few-more-petals-on-the-wind-and-there-and-back-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

